Falcon C2

General Category => General Discussion => Topic started by: b.s. on October 11, 2016, 02:56:07 AM

Title: Software
Post by: b.s. on October 11, 2016, 02:56:07 AM
Ok so here is the software thread.

First, obviously whatever the standard Falcon BMS is.
At the time of this post, most likely 4.33U2

Second, IVC
It comes with BMS
But there will be some configurations required, right?

Doesn't any pilot who wants to hear human AWACS need to alter their cfg file?  particularly if the human controller is not going to be in 3d...

I have not had luck doing an F1/F2 check from 2d during mission planning...  But I was having a funky IVC day that day anyway...

Some IVC settings may need discussion then.

I have a little footswitch that one would want to use but it always keys 'b' (it's hardware programmed to do so).  It's easy enough to  make that a hotkey on teamspeak...   but you would want it to key the U13 channel in IVC, right???


Software options:
BMS 2d.   Not super but it works.

OSC, and FWAWACS.  This is pretty much the cat's meow in my opinion, but AISPY really needs to run on a computer that is left up on the 2d screen showing the campaign map, right?


Speculation...  with the way that net traffic seems to be going with 4.33, it seems like everything should be broadcast to everyone, particularly if we go CS as is being tested at falcon online right now...  That could be a major improvement for what we want to do here.


I do not believe that every human pilot necessarily needs to be running OSC on their local implementation.  I understand that gives you 100% accountability on all of the human players on a given side...  But it shouldn't be necessary to do what we want to do.


Pipe dream (wish list):  BMS creates a dedicated C2 screen that draws its data directly from the game database.  Honestly, the existing 2d screen is pretty darned close to functional...   I'd keep the ruler, but you really want a click and drag range and bearing tool, the bullseye coordinates of the mouse at all times...  and maybe altitude only labels... and should be good to go.

Ultimate pipe dream:  everything I just said above, plus implementaiton of mode 3 (at least).  AI flights should squawk their ATO mission number...  Maybe live flights too...

I've dropped my hat to the devs to code this, but you know...  that's a pretty tight community.  I doubt they will let me in :)


More comments: welcome.
Title: Re: Software
Post by: Blu3wolf on October 13, 2016, 11:24:36 PM
Isnt AISPY broken in 4.33?

In theory, you should be audible in 2D to any 3D pilots within range and LoS of the seat you are in. If you want to be AWACS, you need to take a seat in an AWACS aircraft.

It doesnt help that the range and LoS code seems to underestimate radio range.

The other option is to disable the range effects of radio for 2D outsiders, without outsiders=all. Of course then you can hear anyone chatting away in the UI provided they are on your frequency.

Title: Re: Software
Post by: snipercan on October 15, 2016, 03:10:05 AM
Speculation...  with the way that net traffic seems to be going with 4.33, it seems like everything should be broadcast to everyone, particularly if we go CS as is being tested at falcon online right now...  That could be a major improvement for what we want to do here.
I think; everything being broadcasted to everyone is great but what is everything?
 * Locations of all aircraft (with some data like heading altitude speed etc or just location?)
 * Electronic emissions (Like in HAD screen ), IFF and aircraft radars?
 * Is this documented somewhere how we can access this data if we want to make our own GCI/AWACS interface?

and what is CS?

For the wish list :
* multi channel IVC for controllers to monitor other freq and quick switch.
* chat between controllers (when there is multi controller environment)
* sending lines and points and circles to other controllers and even fighters (l16 alike)
* ability to display route of friendlies. (enemies would be cheating :)  )
* seeing radar emissions from ground and air.
Title: Re: Software
Post by: b.s. on October 29, 2016, 02:02:55 AM
pipe dream for the wishlist...


the ability to draw basic shapes on said bmc2 dedicated display...
like this box is xyz area of operations...
this circle is a known threat, or no fly area
this line represents viper1's flight route (so i can see where they are expected to be so i can sanitize downstream for them)

REALLY schnazzy...    to anchor such objects off of either in-game long/lat coordinates, or even more schnazzy, to be able to put in a bullseye and have it convert it to game coordinates (doesn't have to be super precise, but uh "according to viper1, there's an SA-6 in vicinity of BE 315/46") or whatever

maybe a limit to the number of such objects that can be drawn, and you can delete them individually...  so you have 16 "things" that you can input, and if you want another one you have to get rid of one of the existing ones (or whatever)
Title: Re: Software
Post by: Blu3wolf on October 29, 2016, 02:08:14 AM
Doesnt F4AWACS do a great deal of that? Like the display of shapes and the anchoring cursor?
Title: Re: Falcon C2 Setup Thread
Post by: b.s. on November 06, 2016, 03:21:43 AM
K so big thanks to 51st Squeak for this bit of gouge,

Had to go in and run Falcon BMS exe  to run as administrator
and also go into IVC and run IVC Client exe as administrator
in compatibility mode

Once I did that, everything was sweet.
Title: Re: Re: Falcon C2 Setup Thread
Post by: Blu3wolf on November 06, 2016, 03:52:32 AM
Weird that its required. Cheers for the heads up.
Title: Re: Re: Falcon C2 Setup Thread
Post by: b.s. on November 07, 2016, 10:09:28 PM
It makes sense, that IVC has to run as administrator in order to install the key hooks to make F1, F2, and F3 work when IVC doesn't have program focus.

Oh and I meant to post this in Software so i'm moving these posts over there :)
Title: Re: Software
Post by: b.s. on November 12, 2016, 05:46:57 AM
Learned another bit of 2d AWACS trivia that I didn't know before tonight...

If there is a flight that has taken off before its fragged time, it won't appear on the map, even if it is airborne.

This evening, claw flight was scheduled to take off at 18 after the hour.  They actually came up at about 10 after...    I had negative "radar" contact with them until approximately 20 after even though they were flying right through the middle of blue guy radar fov.

Title: Re: Software
Post by: snipercan on November 12, 2016, 02:29:18 PM
I knew that before..
which makes F4AWACS a better option again ......
Title: Re: Software
Post by: Blu3wolf on November 17, 2016, 01:56:26 PM
Yep, and with the new config options that let you adjust how soon before scheduled takeoff time you spawn, it is possible to heavily abuse that. Set your spawn timer to be 60 minutes before takeoff, then do a scramble - you are invisible on the 2D map.
Title: Re: Software
Post by: Blu3wolf on January 12, 2017, 03:04:43 PM
Thoughts on how to best make use of IVC? So far in order to provide multiple channel ATC to my wing, Im considering setting up multiple computers running IVC. This might not get through the router though - port forwarding can only work for one, I suspect. Then there is the issue of routing multiple computers audio to a single headset, and then the additional issue of sending that headset mic audio to all computers but only XMITing on one at a time. Plus some sort of ID system to clearly indicate which channels are receiving at a time, other than listening for the difference between Kunsan Approach and Kunsan Departure.

Any ideas?
Title: Re: Software
Post by: b.s. on January 12, 2017, 11:10:26 PM
I have thought that multi-uhf IVC (client) would be pretty cool...
I'm not clear on how much of a bandwidth hit that would be.

IVC server can already handle multiple channels... it would just be a mod on the client...

The client is already doing n=2 so i'm not really sure why it would be so difficult to do n=x...

I honestly can't remember if F4AWACS comes with a IVC interface... but it seems like it would be a really great add on to that already great package.  How many channels would you imagine as "ideal" from a C2 perspective?

Title: Re: Software
Post by: Blu3wolf on January 13, 2017, 01:58:01 AM
Absolute minimum two. Probably a 4 or 5 radio stack. More than that and I at least would have trouble using that many frequencies. Less and I would eventually want more to handle different things and areas. In the long run more probably wouldnt be such a big deal, so long as they all have their own PTT key.

Teamspeak doesnt let you listen to more than one channel at a time, does it? This could be the sticking point.

F4AWACS does have an IVC interface, although I think it still just operates the normal client.
Title: Re: Software
Post by: snipercan on January 26, 2017, 05:00:10 AM
i think there is a setting which makes you listen another channel in ts but you should change it every time you go into server. but i don't remember how. may be in an old version
Title: Re: Software
Post by: b.s. on January 26, 2017, 11:04:27 PM
I used to use ventrilo back when I was doing MMO's,
seems like that allowed multi channel listen/talk simultaneously, but only for subscription
Title: Re: Software
Post by: Blu3wolf on January 28, 2017, 08:11:48 AM
So IVC. Has anyone gotten it to work in BMS 4.33 while in the UI? Ive been trying to get it to work from the UI, and so far nothing has worked. outsiders = awacs, tried from not connected at all, and I can hear but no one hears the transmit. Tried connected and in server, I can hear, no one hears the transmit. I am heard just fine if I go to 3D, and I can talk to everyone while they are still in the UI.

Right now it seems like its going to be a problem for doing AWACS!
Title: Re: Software
Post by: b.s. on January 28, 2017, 01:31:51 PM
Did you try the "run as administrator" thing from earlier in this threat, once I did that everything worked fine for me.  i've successfully done f1 and f2 checks during the f-o tests
Title: Re: Software
Post by: Blu3wolf on January 29, 2017, 10:36:58 AM
Ill have to give that a shot BS. Thanks for the reminder.

Does anyone have either the map that F4AWACS uses by default, or a similar map with more detail (but less cluttered than Red Dog's ONC maps?
Title: Re: Software
Post by: b.s. on January 29, 2017, 06:37:40 PM
I don't, but i did  make a bull chart when we did the bfs 4.32 at F-O...
It just had the bullseye, and the airbases and the outline of the terrain, so that I had an easy reference to where I was or where other things were... and also I used to nav home once when I got shot up. Meh.
Title: Re: Software
Post by: Blu3wolf on February 01, 2017, 04:52:57 PM
I did manage to work around the issue by reinstalling OSC. For the moment I have the areas im using set up well enough.

You know what F4AWACS needs? Configurable RSSalike feeds for controllers to give a nonverbal heads up to adjacent controllers of aircraft entering their area. As well as a way of sharing to other F4AWACS clients, info on where you are looking (so long as you are both on the same side).

Then squawk support.

Title: Re: Software
Post by: Blu3wolf on February 15, 2017, 03:32:19 AM
Did you try the "run as administrator" thing from earlier in this threat, once I did that everything worked fine for me.  i've successfully done f1 and f2 checks during the f-o tests

So no, that didnt work for me. Any other ideas?
Title: Re: Software
Post by: snipercan on February 16, 2017, 03:36:28 AM
as far as I know when pilots are in UHF13 and Controller in UI F1 button is the  PTT.
sadly coder of F4AWACS do not do much updates
Title: Re: Software
Post by: Blu3wolf on February 16, 2017, 08:19:34 AM
as far as I know when pilots are in UHF13 and Controller in UI F1 button is the  PTT.

That is correct, yes. The F1 button is also the PTT button when you have the IVC client open - and in turn when you have the F4AWACS window open.

What is confusing me, is with our setup, the server IS hearing me. We can see the radio calls in the server log. If I and the pilots are in 2D, they can hear me just fine. I can always hear them just fine. However, none of them can hear me when they get to 3D, even the ones who have set outsiders = awacs.
Title: Re: Software
Post by: snipercan on February 18, 2017, 02:23:20 PM
when you have F4AWACS Ivc connected it does not make the same problem.
I sometimes just wish to be able to write code :(